Ranking the Buffalo Bills head coaches since 2001

Sean McDermott, Buffalo Bills
Sean McDermott, Buffalo Bills / Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports
1 of 9

The Buffalo Bills recently extended head coach Sean McDermott's contract and he is now under contract through the 2027 season. If he completes that contract, he will have coached the Bills for over a decade and will be one year short of matching the longest run of any coach in franchise history with Marv Levy coaching the Bills from 1986 through 1997.

However, prior to the Bills hiring McDermott they have not had much success finding a head coach that could bring stability and victories to Western New York. Since 2001, the Bills have had eight head coaches prior to Sean McDermott with none coaching more than four seasons and two of the nine being fired midseason.

It is probably obvious who is number one among these head coaches but let's go ahead and rank every head coach the Buffalo Bills has had since 2001.

Ranking the Buffalo Bills head coaches since 2001

9. Anthony Lynn (2016)

Record: 0-1

The first head coach on this list is one who coached the fewest games in Anthony Lynn. He joined the Bills in 2015 as the running backs coach and over the two seasons in that role the Bills had one of the better running games in the league with LeSean McCoy leading the way.

He was considered a popular head coaching candidate during his time in Buffalo and stepped in as interim head coach after the team fired Rex Ryan before the season finale. The Buffalo Bills would lose the game but Lynn showed enough to be named head coach of the Los Angeles Chargers.

At the time, Anthony Lynn seemed like a great candidate to be the permanent head coach but the Pegulas elected to go with Sean McDermott in a move looking back was the right call.