Buffalo Bills legends: Who is enshrined on the Bills Wall of Fame?

It's been seven years since the last Buffalo Bills player was enshrined in the Bills Wall of Fame. But who is on the Wall?
Buffalo Bills
Buffalo Bills / George Gojkovich/GettyImages
2 of 5

Buffalo Bills Wall of Fame: 1980 - 1989

#32, OJ Simpson, Running Back - 1969 - 1977

OJ Simpson was the first Bills player put into the Wall of Fame in 1980 after the Wall was created. He is still considered one of, if not the greatest, running back in Bills history, and one of the best to play the game. He was the first running back to eclipse 2,000 yards rushing and is the only player to do it in a 14-game season. Simpson is also a member of the NFL Pro Football Hall of Fame.

#15, Jack Kemp, Quarterback - 1962 - 1969

Considering the Wall was newly created in 1980 and only one player was added in the first five years of its existence is a bit odd. Nonetheless, it took five years for the Wall's second name to be added. Jack Kemp was added in 1984 and is the only quarterback in Bills history with a league championship. The Bills were AFL champs in 1964 and 1965 with Kemp at the helm. The Bills were in the 1966 AFL title game as well and were just one win away from representing the AFL in the first Super Bowl, unfortunately, you guessed it, the Kansas City Chiefs stopped them.

Van Miller, Announcer - 1960-1970, 1978-2003

Van Miller was inducted into the Wall of Fame in 1985. He was the original voice calling Buffalo Bills games from 1960-1970 and again from 1978-2003. He was there in the booth calling some of the greats, both AFL title games, the comeback against the Houston Oilers, and all four of the Bills AFC championship games as well. He's been named to several local halls of fame including the Buffalo Broadcasters, Greater Buffalo Sports, and the Chautauqua Sports. The NFL Hall of Fame awarded him the Pete Rozell Radio/Television Award in 2004.

Patrick McGroder, General Manager - 1983 - 1985

Patrick McGroder's time as general manager was short-lived; however, he played a vital role in helping bring football to the Buffalo area. He was inducted into the Wall of Fame in 1985 primarily for his contributions as an integral part of bringing the Buffalo Bills into existence when he and Ralph Wilson teamed up.

#70 Tom Sestak, Defensive Lineman - 1962-1968

Tom Sestak, inducted in 1987, is considered by some as the greatest defensive tackle in Bills' lore. He was a mainstay on the Bills defense of the 60s that helped the team win back-to-back AFL titles in 1964 and 1965. He was a three-time first-team All-Pro and four-time Pro Bowler (when Pro Bowls still meant something).

#66, Billy Shaw, Offensive Guard - 1961 - 1969

Shaw was inducted into the Bills Wall of Fame in 1988 and is one of five offensive linemen inducted. He is also one of two Bills linemen to be enshrined in the NFL Pro Football Hall of Fame. He was voted to an incredible five All-Pro teams and eight Pro Bowls. He was one of the anchors of that dominant Bills line during the 60s.

Ralph C. Wilson Jr, Buffalo Bills Owner 1960 - 2014

Mr. Wilson was inducted into the Bills Wall of Fame in 1989. He was the only owner the Bills had from its inception in 1960 until he passed away in 2014. Wilson was instrumental in the launching of the Bills franchise and the AFL/NFL merger.