Buffalo Bills: All-Time passing yard leaders in franchise history

AFC Divisional Playoffs - Kansas City Chiefs v Buffalo Bills
AFC Divisional Playoffs - Kansas City Chiefs v Buffalo Bills / Perry Knotts/GettyImages
3 of 3

2. Joe Ferguson - 27,590 yards

Joe Ferguson entered the league in 1973 shortly after Buffalo joined the NFL along with the rest of the AFL to form the AFC. He would go on to have an illustrious, 12-year career with the team throwing for the second-most yards out of any Bills' quarterback ever.

Ferguson is also responsible for Buffalo's first playoff win in the NFL in 1981 when led the team to defeat the New York Jets in the Wild Card Round 31-27. He threw for 268 yards averaging nearly 8 yards a pass in the game.

In 1983, he set the single-game records in completions, yards, and attempts in a game against the Miami Dolphins.

1. Jim Kelly - 35,467 yards

The heralded leader of the 1990s Bills who went on to win four AFC championships also holds the crown for the passing yard leader in Buffalo's long history. Jim Kelly played in Buffalo from 1986-1996 and racked up an outstanding 101 wins and six double digit win seasons. He also had 9 playoff wins during his career in Buffalo.

Kelly eclipsed 3,000 yards in 8 seasons and had his best season in 1991 when he threw for 3,844 yards and 33 touchdown passes leading to him finishing second in MVP voting behind his teammate and running back Thurmon Thomas. He also finished top five in MVP voting the year before.

Adding to Kelly's accolades is four Pro Bowl seasons and he was a part of All-Pro teams twice in 1991 and 1992. He finished his career as one of, if not the most decorated player in Bills' history.