Buffalo Bills: Five franchise facts for the Pro Bowl

These are five facts from past Pro Bowls for the Buffalo Bills that hopefully the performance from a Buffalo Bills in this year’s game can make future lists.

With the 2020 NFL Pro Bowl this weekend, fans can look forward to watching three Buffalo Bills play this Sunday. Cornerback Tre’Davious White, linebacker Tremaine Edmunds, and returner Andre Roberts were all selected to play this year.

Before they take the field Sunday, we look back at the history of Buffalo Bills in this game with these five facts.

Most Rushing Yards in a single Pro Bowl

There are many different records for the Pro Bowl from passing yards and rushing touchdowns to interceptions and field goals. There is a record for every stat. One of those records belongs to former Buffalo Bills’ running back O.J. Simpson, who holds the record for most rushing attempts in a game with 19 attempts in 1974.

Bruce Smith holds franchise record for most Pro Bowls

Through the Buffalo Bills’ history there has been nine players who have been selected to six or more Pro Bowls. Leading the charge is Bruce Smith who has been selected to 11 Pro Bowls in his career. Also on the list includes Billy Shaw (8), Ruben Brown, (8), Steve Tasker (7), Andre Reed (7), Kyle Williams (7), O.J. Simpson (6), Mike Stratton (6), and finally Jack Kemp (6).

Most Valuable Player Winners

The Buffalo Bills have had five players win the Most Valuable Player award in the Pro Bowl. O.J. Simpson was the first to win the award in 1973. The next Bill to win was Bruce Smith in 1988 followed by Jim Kelly, who was the first Buffalo Bills’ quarterback to win the MVP, in 1991.

After Kelly, Steve Tasker was awarded with the honor in 1993, who is the only special teams player to win the award. Finally Lorenzo Alexander won Defensive MVP in 2017 along with Travis Kelce (Kansas City Chiefs), who was the Offensive MVP.

Only one Bills’ head coach has coached in the Pro Bowl

Marv Levy is the only Buffalo Bills’ head coach to ever coach a Pro Bowl game, when he coached the 1989 Pro Bowl. That year the NFC came out ahead and beat the AFC by a score of 34-3.

In addition to Levy, Jim Kelly was announced as a Legends Captain for the 2019 Pro Bowl and his former teammate Bruce Smith was announced as a Legend Caption for this year’s Pro Bowl.

Defensive backs lead the way with Pro Bowl selections

Of all the Buffalo Bills who have been selected to the Pro Bowl though the years, defensive backs have had the most selections with 15 different players being selected to play in the Pro Bowl. This group is led by Butch Byrd and George Saimes, both being selected to 5 each.

The position with the next most selections is wide receivers with 11 different players being selected led by Andre Reed with seven selections.

All stats from Pro Football Reference unless otherwise noted.