Buffalo Bills History: Who Wore It – Number 19


Oct 20, 2013; Miami Gardens, FL, USA; Detail shot of a Buffalo Bills helmet and gatorade towel in the second quarter of a game at Sun Life Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Robert Mayer-USA TODAY Sports

During the Buffalo Bills history there have been four players that have worn the number 19 for the Buffalo Bills.

The first player to wear the number 19 for the red, white, and blue didn’t come until 1980.  Duke Ferguson wore both the number 19 as well as the number 84 for the Bills during his 1 year stint as a Bill.  Ferguson was traded to the Bills in 1980 from the Seattle Seahawks and the year with the Bills was the end of his 5 year NFL career.

Wide Receiver Jonathan Smith was the next player to wear the number 19 during the years of 2004-2005.  He did come back to the Bills in 2007, his last year in the NFL, but was only part of the preseason and practice squads.

Scott Mayle was the next player to wear the number 19 for the Bills.  Mayle came to the Bills in 2007 and only played for them that season.  Mayle was released at the end of the 2007 preseason by the Bills.  Mayle had the same fate a year later with the Kansas City Chiefs and never made it on to the field during the regular season.

The final Bills player to wear the number 19 was wide receiver Donald Jones.  Jones played for he Bills from 2010-2012.  He was signed by the Bills as an undrafted free agent in 2010.  Jones finished his career with the Bills when new coach Doug Marrone and GM Buddy Nix did not offer a contract in 2013.  Jones was signed by the Patriots but was released a couple of months later in July, 2013.  Jones retired from the NFL later that year due to advancements from his kidney disease.