Buffalo Bills History: Who Wore Number 1


May 14, 2013; Orchard Park, NY, USA; A general view of a Buffalo Bills helmet used during organized team activities at Bills Healthy Zone Fieldhouse. Mandatory Credit: Timothy T. Ludwig-USA TODAY SportsFrom the inception of the Buffalo Bills in the AFL to last years 2013 6-10 season, the Buffalo Bills have had a number of players come and go.  The Buffalo Bills have had more than 1200 players play for them since 1960.

So Who Wore #1?

There are three players in Buffalo Bills history that have worn the number 1.  They are Efren Herrera, Mike Hollis and Benny Ricardo.  All three were Kickers for the Bills during their history.

Herrera was signed by the Bills in 1982 and only played in 7 games because of a strike abbreviated season.  During this time he was ranked 2nd in field goal accuracy with a 67.8%

Hollis was picked up as a free agent after the 2001 season when he was released by the Jaguars.  Hollis was part of the Bills for only 1 season and then moved on to the NY Giants where he retired in 2003 due to an injured back.

Benny Ricardo came into the league with the Buffalo Bills in 1976.  During his 8 year career he played for the Bills, Lions, Saints, Vikings and Chargers.  Ricardo is now a stand-up comedian and has also been the lead bi-lingual announcer for major sporting events in Spanish and English.