Dec 15, 2013; Jacksonville, FL, USA; Buffalo Bills quarterback EJ Manuel (3) throws the ball during the first half of the game against the Jacksonville Jaguars at EverBank Field. Mandatory Credit: Melina Vastola-USA TODAY Sports

All-Time Buffalo Bills First Round Draft Picks

We are just one day away from the 2014 NFL Draft.  What better time to look at the All-Time Buffalo Bills’ First Round Picks.

The Buffalo Bills have been in existence since the 1960s.  They have had over 1200 players come through their doors for those 54 years.  During those 54 years there have been 56 first round players drafted by the Bills with one of those coming as a supplemental pick in 1984. 

Lets look back at the All-Time Buffalo Bills First Round Draft Picks starting with 1961 and coming through last year 2013. The Bills have had a total of 8 players inducted into the Hall of Fame.  Of those 8 inductees, 5 of them were first round picks.

Here are the Bills 1st Round Picks:

1961 – Ken Rice, T, Auburn,  was the 3rd pick in the draft for the Buffalo Bills.

1962 – Ernie Davis, HB, Syracuse, was the 4th pick in the draft.

1963 – Dave Behrman, C, Michigan State, was the 4th pick in the draft.

1964 – Carl Eller, Hall of Famer was a DE from Minnesota that was the 5th pick in the 1964 draft.

1965 – Jim Davidson, T, Ohio State was the 8th overall pick for the Buffalo Bills

1966 – Mike Dennis, RB, Mississippi was selected as the 8th overall pick for the Buffalo Bills.

1967 – John Pitts, DB, Arizona State was picked as the 22nd overall pick.

1968 – Haven Moses, WR, San Diego State was picked as the number 9 pick.

1969 – O.J. Simpson, RB, USC was drafted as the number 1 overall pick in the draft.  HOF

1970 – Al Cowlings, DE, USC was the 5th overall pick in the 1970 draft.

1971 – J.D. Hill, WR, Arizona State was selected as the 4th overall pick.

1972 – Walt Patulski, DE, Notre Dame was the 1st overall pick in the draft

1973 – Paul Seymour, TE, Michigan was the 7th overall pick

1973 – Joe DeLamielleure, G, Michigan State was selected as the 26th overall pick. HOF

1974 – Reuben Gant, TE, Oklahoma State was selected as the 18th overall pick.

1975 – Tom Ruud, LB, Nebraska selected at 19.

1976 – Mario Clark, DB, Oregon was drafted at number 18 overall.

1977 – Phil Dokes, DT, Oklahoma State was the 12th overall pick.

1978 – Terry Miller, RB, Oklahoma State was the 5th overall pick.

1979 – Tom Cousineau, LB, Ohio State was selected as the first overall pick.

1979 – Jerry Butler, WR, Clemson was picked as the 5th overall pick.

1980 – Jim Ritcher, G, North Carolina, was the 16th overall pick.

1981 – Booker Moore, RB, Penn State was the 28th pick in the draft.

1982 – Perry Tuttle, WR, Clemson was the 19th overall pick.

1983 – Tony Hunter, TE, Notre Dame was the 12th overall pick.

1983 – Jim Kelly, QB, Miami (FL) was selected as the 14th overall pick. HOF

1984 – Dwight Drane, DB, Oklahoma was selected at the 14th position and was a supplemental pick.

1984 – Greg Bell, RB, Notre Dame was selected as the 26th overall pick

1985 – Bruce Smith, DE, Virginia Tech was selected first overall. HOF

1985 – Derrick Burroughs, DB, Memphis was picked 14th overall.

1986 – Ronnie Harmon, RB, Iowa was selected at number 16.

1986 – Will Wolford, T, Vanderbilt was selected at number 20.

1987 – Shane Conlan, LB, Penn State was picked at number 8.

1990 – James Williams, DB, Fresno State was picked at 16.

1991 – Henry Jones, DB, Illinois was selected at 26th overall.

1992 – John Fina, T, Arizona was picked at 27th overall.

1993 – Thomas Smith, DB, North Carolina was picked 28th overall.

1994 – Jeff Burris, DB, Notre Dame was selected as the 27th pick.

1995 – Ruben Brown, G, Pittsburgh was picked as the 14th pick.

1996 – Eric Moulds, WR, Mississippi State was selected as the 24th overall pick.

1997 – Antowain Smith, RB, Houston was selected as the 23rd overall pick.

1999 – Antoine Winfield, DB, Ohio State picked as the 23rd pick.

2000 – Erik Flowers, DE, Arizona State was picked as number 26.

2001 – Nate Clements, DB, Ohio State was selected at number 21.

2002 – Mike Williams, T, Texas was picked 4th overall.

2003 – Willis McGahee, RB, Miami (FL) was picked as the 23rd overall pick.

2004 – Lee Evans, WR, Wisconsin was picked at 13.

2004 – J.P. Losman, QB, Tulane was selected at the 22nd spot.

2006 – Donte Whitner, DB, Ohio State was picked as the 8th overall.

2006 – John McCargo, DT, North Carolina State was selected at the 26th spot.

2007 – Marshawn Lynch, RB, California was picked at number 12.

2008 – Leodis McKelvin, DB, Troy was selected at number 11.

2009 – Aaron Maybin, DE, Penn State was selected at the 11th spot.

2010 – C.J. Spiller, RB, Clemson was picked 9th overall.

2011 – Marcell Dareus, DT, Alabama was picked as the 3rd overall pick

2012 – Stephon Gilmore, DB, South Carolina was selected as the 10th overall pick.

2013 – EJ Manuel, QB, Florida State was selected as the 16th overall pick





Next Bills Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct1:00at New York JetsBuy Tickets

Tags: Buffalo Bills Cj Spiller EJ Manuel Jim Kelly Joe DeLamielleure O.j. Simpson

comments powered by Disqus